Fort Worth DWI Attorney
Fort Worth DWI Lawyer Attorney Profile Frequently Asked Questions Free Case Evaluation Contact Us
Have You Been Charged With A DWI? Protect Your Rights Practice Areas Former District Attorney
DWI
ALR Hearings
Breath & Blood Tests
CDL DWI
Drivers’ License Restoration
DWI Penalties
DWI Defenses
DWI & Drugs
DWI with Injury
Felony DWI
Field Sobriety Tests
First Time DWI
Ignition Interlock Device
Leaving the Scene
Multiple DWI
Out of State DWI
Underage DWI
Vehicular Manslaughter
Name:
Email:
Phone:
Message:

Like us on FacebookFind us on Google Plus.

1130 S Henderson St Fort Worth, TX 76104

Understanding DWI Offenses

Texas lawmakers have made it extremely tough on those who are caught driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. The penalties are severe, and the loss of your legal right to drive is part of any punishment, and is a permanent revocation in some serious cases. There are constant attempts to catch and convict DWI drivers ongoing, in roadside checkpoints as well as in other circumstances. The efforts to punish DWI drivers are relentless, and if you have been caught and accused of DWI, it is strongly advised that you contact a lawyer from our firm to assist you. We represent clients in all types of DWI matters, including the following:

DWI
There have been significant efforts to enforce the laws regarding drinking while driving in the state of Texas. Law enforcement officers are relentless in checking drivers on the road and if they are caught with a blood alcohol content higher than .08 percent, it could result in license suspension and other serious consequences.

DWI Penalties
First time offenders of DWI laws may serve up to 6 months in jail and pay up to $2,000 in fines. Penalties for second time DWI could result in community service, jail time and up to two years without a license. The third time a DWI is given, the individual has committed a felony and must spend at least two years in a state prison with additional consequences.

DWI Defenses
Often times the police officer who gives out the DWI has made mistakes along the way and given cause for the individual being charged to have his/her charges dismissed. It is important to seek out an attorney who is well-versed in these laws that can assist you.

Multiple DWI
As DWI offenses increase in number it means a considerable amount more time in jail, financial restitution and time without a license. It is considered a serious felony by the time a third DWI has been given out and it is critical that an attorney be present to defend your case and ensure your rights are protected.

Underage DWI
When a driver under the age of 21 is charged with a DWI, the penalties are extremely strict especially if their blood alcohol content level is above .08 percent. In situations where they have trace amounts under the legal limit, they are given less severe penalties; however, if they are intoxicated they will be treated like an adult with harsh consequences.

Out of State DWI
Whether a resident of Texas or not, individuals can be pulled over and charged with a DWI by law enforcement officers. If they are not currently living in Texas, they must still abide by Texas laws and standards. They will be penalized and sentenced according to the legal system in place in that state.

CDL DWI
Commercial drivers who are charged with a DWI may lose their license to drive commercially for up to a year. This applies even if the driver was operating a personal vehicle at the time of the offense. These kind of charges must be objected within 15 days of the offense before it become impossible to fight license suspension.

DWI with Injury
Offenses of this nature are considered felonies of the third degree and can tremendously impact your future in a negative way. In order for the case to qualify as creating injury it must mean that the individual hurt had great risk of dying or permanent life-altering damage to their body.

DWI & Drugs
Driving under the influence is not just related to the use of alcohol prior to operating a vehicle; it also applies to drug use. License suspension is guaranteed for at least 3-6 months and there is a great possibility of jail time and fines. Having a knowledgeable lawyer by your side may help clear these charges and protect your freedom.

Felony DWI
Factors that make a DWI a felony include operating a vehicle while intoxicated with a child under the age of 15 in the car, having multiple DWI charges, and causing serious personal injury or death. These cases are treated with severity and usually result in at least a year in state prison.

First Time DWI
While the penalties for a first time offense are scary, they can often be minimized with the help of a qualified attorney. Penalties can include jail time, fines up to $2,000 and definite license suspension. It can be qualified as a felony if other factors are met, but otherwise it is a misdemeanor.

Leaving the Scene
A hit and run accident as a result of driving under the influence provides cause for serious penalties. If the individual hit received serious injuries or death and the driver did not stop, it is considered a felony. Driver intoxication makes a hit and run incident extremely severe in nature.

Vehicular Manslaughter
Killing an individual while driving without the intent to kill is considered vehicular manslaughter. Penalties can be dependent upon the driver and whether or not they were intoxicated at the time of the accident.

ALR Hearings
These hearings can be requested after a license suspension has been served in order to contest the situation. This can be especially helpful if the police officer was wrongful in arresting or pulling over the driver.

Breath & Blood Tests
As a driver in the state of Texas, it is required by law that you submit to breath or blood testing if you are pulled over for suspected intoxication. If the driver denies these forms of testing, they will receive automatic license suspension and can face severe penalties that add on to their original DWI charges.

Field Sobriety Tests
Law enforcement officers will ask suspected drunk drivers to submit to a field sobriety test before they hand out a DWI charge. It is under Texas state law that there must be probable cause for a crime in order to hand out a DWI to any individual.

Drivers' License Restoration
It is possible that you may be able to contest a license revocation in the case that the police officer who gave it out committed certain errors. There may be even a chance that an individual can get certain privileges to drive to work or school through the restoration process.

Ignition Interlock Device
After a DWI charge, it may be required that the individual must have an ignition interlock device installed in their car. This means that the driver cannot start their vehicle without first blowing into a machine that ensures that their blood alcohol content is below .08 percent. This is an expensive device and will have to be paid for by the individual charged.

Defending DWI Charges

When you need a defense lawyer that has extensive experience and a proven record, we urge you to contact our legal team as soon after your arrest as possible. After you are booked at the police facility is the time to make the call. Fast action on your behalf can lead to a better outcome in your case, whether a dismissed charge, reduced charge or a not guilty verdict in court. There are several aspects to a DWI case that should be addressed immediately by your attorney, including the ALR (Administrative License Revocation) hearing. The criminal aspect of the charge is done in the courtroom, the administrative hearing takes is addressed separately at the Department of Public Safety. We have scheduled and represented clients at countless such hearings, and can assist you with this process.

We take on cases determined to serve our clients with aggressive and energetic legal counsel. We take pride in our record of success in DWI cases, and are prepared to evaluate your situation and advise you of the defense we will employ in your case. We fight for our clients, and our honest, straightforward philosophy is important when you need to know how we feel your case will play out in court. You will not regret hiring my law firm to represent you in your DWI case.

Get the Legal Help You Need

Despite how daunting your situation may appear, procuring legal representation will be the most beneficial choice you can make after an arrest for DWI has been made. Not only does your future freedom rely on your decision to secure an attorney, but your reputation does as well. After being charged with driving while intoxicated, you will most likely have your driving privileges revoked, preventing you from lawfully driving to and from work, taking your kids to school, grocery shopping or doing virtually anything. You will be forced to rely on everyone else to get by until your driving privileges have been reinstated if you are incapable of retaining or choose not to work with a lawyer. Protect your future today and call our office! We have protected hundreds from being harshly penalized from a DWI charge, and we may be able to help you today as well!