Fort Worth DWI Attorney
Fort Worth DWI Lawyer Attorney Profile Frequently Asked Questions Free Case Evaluation Contact Us
Have You Been Charged With A DWI? Protect Your Rights Practice Areas Former District Attorney
DWI
ALR Hearings
Breath & Blood Tests
CDL DWI
Drivers’ License Restoration
DWI Penalties
DWI Defenses
DWI & Drugs
DWI with Injury
Felony DWI
Field Sobriety Tests
First Time DWI
Ignition Interlock Device
Leaving the Scene
Multiple DWI
Out of State DWI
Underage DWI
Vehicular Manslaughter
Name:
Email:
Phone:
Message:

Like us on FacebookFind us on Google Plus.

1130 S Henderson St Fort Worth, TX 76104

Have You Been Arrested for Drug Related DWI?

Most individuals with commonly associated a DWI with drinking and an alcohol blood count. However under Texas Penal Code Section 49.01 the term "intoxication" is defined as:

"Not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance into the body; or having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more"

Additional complications and penalties can occur in a DWI and drugs arrest for factors such as the possession of large quantities of a controlled substance or other illegal activities are connected. However the plain fact is that driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a very serious crime and can be heavily penalized by the law. Whatever the circumstances surrounding a DWI arrest it is imperative that a lawyer be brought into the picture as soon as can be done.

What Kind of Trouble can be Associated with a DWI and Drugs Charge?

Even for a first time offender with an otherwise clean record and no further complications, such as an injury or minor as a passenger, the consequences are not light:

  • Jail time can run from a minimum of 72 hours to a maximum of 180 days
  • Fines of as much as $2,000
  • License suspension with a minimum of 90 days and a maximum of one year
  • Texas imposes a DWI surcharge to the above fine. This is either $1,000 per year for three years or doubled to $2,000 if the BAC was above .16

These are the minimum penalties for a first time offense and don't begin to cover the personal and financial devastation to your life. Mr. Alband of The Alband Law Firm has years of experience working under the District Attorney's Office and understands the inner workings of the criminal justice system and how to worth within the system to defend you against these charges.