Out-of-State DWI Charges
Are You Visiting From Out of State and Been Stopped for DWI?
The laws of Texas apply to out-of-state visitors just as they do for residents. Texas DWI carries fines, jail time and license suspension as penalties. Every county in the state does things a little differently and so it is wise to obtain a local attorney experienced in DWI to represent you. If you have been arrested for DWI, it urged that you contact an attorney.
Texas Penalties for DWI
For a first time DWI offense the fine is up to $2000. The privilege to drive in Texas is suspended from 90 days to a year. Jail time will run from 72 hours to six months and if there was an open container in the car, the minimum jail time is six days. Additionally, Texas notifies the home state and that state's restrictions apply as well.
Fortunately, policemen often make mistakes affording you with defenses. These include stopping you just to check your driver's license and car registration or stopping you for a violation you were not guilty of. Nor may a policeman pull you over for merely driving slow unless he can cite a specific traffic law you were violating. It is also possible for the person administrating the breath test to misapply the rules of the state manual invalidating the result.
How Our Firm Can Help
The Alband Law Firm is a seasoned DWI law firm available to assist the out-of-state driver stopped in the Fort Worth, Texas area. We are alert to possible defenses to DWI and quick to capitalize on them for the client's benefit. We offer strong advocacy and conscientious client care. We are skilled in finding ways to reduce DWI penalties and deal with the visitor's needs. We are knowledgeable of other state laws and will orient the client as to how his home state will handle the matter. We urge you to contact us. We will review your case diligently for defenses and let you know how we can help you.