Call for a Consultation 817.997.4366
UnParalleled DWI Defense Entrust your case to a former 5 year Tarrant County Prosecutor.

DWI Penalties According to Texas Law

Are You Charged with a DWI and Concerned About Penalties?

DWI penalties are severe though it is possible to defend effectively against them with experienced help. If you are charged, you are urged to contact an attorney.

  • Penalties for First Offense - On the first offense, you are subject to a fine of up to $2000 and may be required to serve from 3 to 180 days in jail. You will need to do 24 to 100 hours of community service. You will lose your driver license for a year but may reduce this by attending DWI education classes. You may apply for an occupational license if needed. You will need to pay an annual fee of $1000 to $2000 for up to three years to keep a license.
  • Penalties for Second Offense - Your fine is up to $4000. Your jail time is from one month to a year and the community service requirement is from 80 to 200 hours. You may lose your driver license for up to two years. Your annual fee may be $1000 to $2000.
  • Penalties for Third Offense - This is a felony. You may be sent to the penitentiary for two to ten years. Your fine is up to $10,000 and the community service requirement is from 160 to 600 days. The license suspension is from 180 days to two years.

Our Firm is Ready to Help

The Alband law firm serves the Fort Worth, Texas area. We diligently defend against DWI charges and seek reduction of penalties including substitution of probation for jail time and help with restoration of your driver license.

We would be pleased to meet with you. We will review your case for potential defenses and recommend your best course of action.