Call for a Consultation 817.997.4366
UnParalleled DWI Defense Entrust your case to a former 5 year Tarrant County Prosecutor.

A First Time DWI Arrest

Experiencing a First Time DWI Arrest

A first time DWI arrest is a terrifying experience. Often this is an individual's first and only serious encounter with the law. Not only is it traumatic but the presence of so many unknowns and unfamiliar circumstances can create a tremendous sense of confusion and helplessness. Fears about the consequences, regret over what one may have done wrong and public humiliation make taking action or decision-making difficult, if not impossible. Although normally considered a misdemeanor and not a felony you should still immediately seek help from an experienced attorney. Getting the answers that you need and deciding upon a proper course of action is crucial at a time such as this.

The consequences of a first time DWI conviction are:

  • County or municipal jail time from 72 hours up to 180 days
  • A license suspension from 90 days up to one year
  • Fines of up to $2000
  • A DWI surcharge from the State of Texas of $1,000 per year for a period of three years

If a child under the age of 15 was in the vehicle then the jail time can be increased to up to two years and the fine can be raised up to $10,000. In the case of the BAC being double the legal limit (.16 and above) then the surcharge is now $2,000 per year for three years.

The above are the penalties as outlined in Texas Penal Code Section 49 and represent what the courts can bring against you. However in practice there are many exceptions to these as cases can be dismissed, plea bargains can be reached and the courts commonly reach compromises with first time offenders. At The Alband Law Firm we have worked first time DWI defenses cases time and time again.

We understand the law and can examine your case for potential weaknesses and possible dismissal. Contact us today.